Adventures in catering – Tom’s 21st.

A couple of weeks ago, I ventured into unchartered territory. My cousin’s 21st promised to be quite a rad event. With the Facebook event stating “90 people are attending”, and an enticing description of the likely happenings (soup, fires, couches, bring your own musical instruments), I was very keen to put my hand up to create some things for people to munch.

Catering isn’t really something I see myself doing as a career, but I do love cooking, and what better way to practise some skills (namely preparing large quantities), than cooking for a big party?

I really enjoyed this. A lot. Coming up with food suitable to all tastes and dietary requirements, as well as planning what to prepare when, is a fun activity for a chronic list-maker. With supplementary soups and meat dishes by my aunty and mum, there was a serious spread on offer. It was lovely to see people enjoying things I’d made, and made the “oh my god I hope they don’t hate it” moments all okay.

Here are some brilliant photos by Kate Kneebone Video and Photography. Check out her work on Facebook too – seriously great things happening from this girl!

Cheers! And happy birthday Tom :)

Hummus trio. Classic, spicy pumpkin, beetroot and thyme. Success. 
100% rye flatbread. For my wheat-free friend.
Vegetarian ‘sausage’ rolls. Mega success, and so sneaky! Even the meatiest of meat eaters were impressed.
Puff pastry pizzas. Potato and rosemary, jerusalem artichoke and lemon thyme, tomato and red onion. Classic. And how good is puff pastry?! Vegan yums!
Assorted vegan muffins. Orange and wattleseed, apple and rhubarb, chocolate.
Gluten-free orange and choc-chip chickpea cakes.
2 thoughts on “Adventures in catering – Tom’s 21st.

Leave a Reply

